top of page


Updated: Jul 31, 2019

Thursday, January 18, 2018. NOPSI Hotel, 317 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA

Pro Bono Awardees

Patty McMurray, Baker Donelson & Madison McMurray, UVA Law School

Caroline Crosby & Lillian Grappe of Phelps Dunbar

Sam Ford, Scott, Vicknair, Hair and Checki, LLC

Social Justice Awardees

Chief Justice Bernette Johnson, Louisiana Supreme Court

Ken Polite, Entergy New Orleans

Alan Philipson



Gold: Adams and Reese, LLP; Jones Walker; Pan-American Life Insurance Group

Silver: Allison & Ben Tiller, Allient Advisors, LLC; Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, P.C.; Barrasso, Usdin, Kupperman, Freeman & Sarver, LLC; Capital One; Cook, Yancey, King & Galloway; Fayard Law Firm, LLC; Gainsburgh, Benjamin, David, Meunier &

Warshauer, L.L.C.; Huber Slack Law Firm; IBERIABANK; Steven J. Lane; Liskow & Lewis; Phelps Dunbar, LLP; Sher Garner Cahill Richter Klein & Hilbert, L.L.C.; Stanley, Reuter, Ross, Thornton & Alford, L.L.C.

Bronze: Association of Corporate Counsel, Louisiana Chapter; Bourgeois Bennett CPAs & Consultants; Fishman, Haygood, Phelps, Walmsley, Willis & Swanson, LLP; Frilot L.L.C.; Gold Weems Bruser Sues & Rundell Stephen and the Hon. Karen Herman; Kean Miller LLP; Lewis, Kullman, Sterbcow, & Abramson LLC; Louisiana Association for Justice through its sister non-profit entity Bayou Research Institute; Louisiana State Bar Association; Rebecca Maisel and Nicky Sheldon; Morris Dewett & Savoie; Arlene and Alan Philipson; POOLCORP; Ranier Law Firm, LLC; Scott, Vicknair, Hair & Checki, LLC; Smith & Fawer, LLC; Stone Pigman Walther Wittmann; Jeannine A. Sullivan; Taylor, Porter, Brooks & Phillips, LLP; Irving Warshauer; Candy and Jack Weiss; Whitney Bank


Camille Whitworth formerly of WGNO was the Master of Ceremonies. She presented awards to honorees. Glass apple awards were created by Rosetree Glass Studio, with additional support from Studio Inferno, and glass engraving by Ed Smith’s Stencilworks.


Social Justice awards were given to individuals whose daily work exceeds expectations in creating access to justice, education, and opportunity, and embodies the mission of Louisiana Appleseed. Awardees were Chief Justice Bernette Johnson of the Louisiana Supreme Court, for increasing access to justice throughout her esteemed career, from her days as a community organizer, to her service at the Civil District Court of New Orleans, to her term as Chief Justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court. Alan Philipson for his work increasing access to education, including his achievements on behalf of Bricolage Academy, to his membership on the boards of numerous other community-benefitting schools and nonprofits. Ken Polite of Entergy Corporation, and former U.S. Attorney, for increasing access to opportunity through his work with many initiatives, including the 30-2-2 Reentry Collaborative, a workforce pipeline for ex-offenders returning from incarceration.


Caroline Crosby and Lillian Grappe of Phelps Dunbar, for increasing access to justice by suggesting best practices to the Access to Justice Commission, related to providing quality interpreters for litigants and victims in our civil and criminal justice systems.

Sam Ford of Scott, Vicknair, Hair and Checki LLC, for increasing access to opportunity by working with the Louisiana State Bar Association’s Debt Buyer Task Force, to advocate for state-wide reform to protect vulnerable consumers from debt buyers’ unfair, illegal, and harmful collection practices. Patty McMurray of Baker Donelson, and daughter Madison McMurray of UVA Law School, for increasing access to opportunity through advocacy efforts to change the law on small successions to make it easier and less expensive for community members to have clear title to their property, thus preserving home ownership and promoting economic development.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page